Quick Links

Quick Links

GSW Test

Early Years Foundation Stage

At Hady Primary, we believe that the Early Years Foundation Stage is crucial in securing solid foundations, which will be built upon throughout a child’s time with us.

It is our intent that the children who enter our EYFS unit develop physically, verbally, cognitively and emotionally whilst embedding a positive attitude towards school and learning. We believe that children deserve to be valued as an individual and we are passionate in allowing all children to achieve their full unique potential. With this in mind, we begin each new year by looking at the needs of the individual and; taking into account their different starting points, we carefully develop our curriculum, at a suitable stage of development. Children in our Foundation Stage follow the EYFS curriculum, which has seven main areas of learning.

The Prime Areas

  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development
  • Communication and Language
  • Physical Development

The Specific Areas

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts

The teaching of these areas of learning is practical and playful with support and challenge from adults in class sessions, small group sessions and working with individuals. There is a combination of adult-led, teacher taught sessions as well a wealth of stimulating continuous provision opportunities for the children to access both indoors and outside